Oscar Night in Canada: What’s New This Year

(Via PRNewswire) What’s the most-watched entertainment event broadcast in Canada for the past five consecutive years? The Oscars. In 2014, more than half of all English-speaking Canadians watching TV that night took in the awards ceremony. CTV has exclusive coverage of the Oscars and is starting off with its own red carpet special, anchored by ETALK’s Ben Mulroney with Danielle Graham and Lainey Lui in the balcony.

There are several firsts for CTV in this year’s show:

  • CTV.ca and CTV GO will feature the Oscars press room feed
  • The “thank you cam”, backstage, will also be featured — according to CTV, it “captures candid moments only available in Canada on CTV.ca and CTV GO”
  • ETALK will present Canada Stars in Awards Season ( in association with Telefilm Canada, The Academy of Canadian Cinema & Television, and the Consulate General of Canada) at the Four Seasons in Beverly Hills on the 19th
  • Two new specials — ETALK Presents: Road to the Oscars 2015 and ETALK’s Ultimate Oscar Guide 2015 — will air

For times and dates, see below.

ETALK PRESENTS: ROAD TO THE OSCARS 2015: Mon., Feb. 16 at 7 p.m. ET/PT on CTV and CTV GO

ETALK’S ULTIMATE OSCAR GUIDE 2015: Sat., Feb. 21 at 7 p.m. ET/PT on CTV and CTV GO

ETALK AT THE OSCARS – RED CARPET SPECIAL: Sun., Feb. 22 at 6:30 p.m. ET on CTV and CTV GO

OSCARS® OPENING CEREMONY: LIVE FROM THE RED CARPET: Sun., Feb. 22 at 7 p.m. ET / 4 p.m. PT on CTV and CTV GO

THE OSCARS: Sun., Feb. 22 at 8:30 p.m. ET/5:30 p.m. PT on CTV and CTV GO

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *